# Announcements
# Changes to group prevent download settings on 6 October
The Prevent downloading layer source and Prevent downloading documents settings will be replaced by group roles on 6 October.
# Key action
Group memberships should be set to ensure that the correct sets of users do and do not have access to download privileges solely using group roles (i.e. without having to tick any "Prevent" checkboxes).
TIP
We recommend creating one group with the layer source download role and another with the document download role and assigning all users who should have access into each of these new groups.
# Context
As part of a recent update, new group roles Downloading layer source and Downloading documents have been introduced. These replace the existing prevent settings, however since there is an inversion of logic in how these work:
- Prevent settings work by forbidding every user in a group with them.
- Group roles enable every user in a group with them.
As a result, we cannot swap these directly to maintain the same selection of users with downloading privileges.
We are having a grace period until 6 October with both the prevent settings and the group roles available. Project administrators should organize group roles and memberships such that no groups require the prevent settings to be selected. At the end of this grace period the prevent settings will be removed.
The group roles currently have no effect; they exist to be set appropriately during the grace period and will come into action on 6 October.
Important
Until 6 October, the "Prevent" checkboxes must still be ticked in order to withhold users' access to layer source and document downloads.
Important
Note that, once the grace period ends, non-administrator users who are not in any groups will lose access to layer source and document downloads. They must be placed in a group with Downloading layer source or Downloading documents respectively in order to retain their access.
# Note for future usage
After 6 October, ensure that, when creating groups, users who should have access to layer source or document downloads get added to an appropriate group, as this is no longer done automatically as was previously.
TIP
See the groups page for specific information on these settings.